Skip to Main Content

Logo: NCATE - The Standard of Excellence in Teacher Preparation
You are in the main content

Back to Standard Five IR

Faculty Development and Support Committee


This college committee is composed of five members, one faculty representative from each COE department's PAC .


  • Solicit and review proposals and make recommendations to the Dean regarding recipients of faculty educational leaves, research grants and teaching grants.
  • Administer faculty development funds allocated from the college to support faculty research, teaching, collaborative endeavors and professional development.
  • Identify the Distinguished Teacher, Madison Scholar, and Distinguished Service Award recipient for the College.
  • Plan the annual faculty awards and recognition reception.
  • Serve as the body to solicit proposals and make recommendations to the Dean regarding special awards or recognition identified by the College (e.g., the Mosier Fellow).
  • Offer support and guidance as new faculty members adjust to life in the JMU College of Education.
  • Design professional development opportunities for new faculty around the issues of teaching, scholarship and service.
  • Serve as appeals committee for faculty in tenure/promotion decisions.
  • Coordinate with the assessment committee on faculty evaluation process.