A-to-Z Index

CIS Scholarships & Awards

Incoming First-Year Students

JMU Thomas and Karyn Dingledine Scholarship for Achievement in Academics and Service Scholarships

Six scholarships are given annually by the JMU Dingledine Scholarship Selection Committee.  Recipients of the scholarship should exemplify excellence in academic achievement, leadership, and community service.  An 'Early Action' freshman application to JMU is required

Madison Achievement Scholarships

The Madison Achievement Scholarships are merit-based awards which recognize a broad spectrum of accomplishment and potential. Award amounts vary from $2,000 for two years to $500 for one year.  Approximately 50 awards are given annually.


CIS Juniors and Seniors

The Department of Computer Information Systems & Business Analytics offers several scholarships and awards to juniors and seniors majoring in CIS.  Below is a list of the CIS scholarships and their recipients.

Dr. Charles P. Bilbrey Endowed Scholarship

Established by Dr. Charles P. Bilbrey, former CIS & MS department head, to provide scholarships for deserving JMU CIS students.

2010 Winner:

Leanna Pomponio
2009 Winner: Daniel Ballard, Jr.
2008 Winner:  Nicholas Passero
 2007 Winner:  Vivian Tran


McDonald Bradley Scholarship for Leadership in the COB

Awarded annually to a student majoring in CIS that has demonstrated outstanding leadership abilities.
2010 Winner:
Danielle Pereira
 2009 Winner:  Tyler Martin



CIS Consulting Award

Presented annually to the team developing the best proposal in the Information Technology Consulting class (CIS 434).  
2010 Winner:
Ashleigh Kenion, Bryan Morel, Ryan Koontz
2009 Winner: Nick Passero, Nicholas Passero, Kyle Murphy
2008 Winner: Robinson, Stephanie Marino, Jeff Ellis
2007 Winner: James Chilton, Veronica Sheen, Ryan Swanson
2006 Winner: David Parker, Nathaniel Liberati, Jennifer Weidman



Outstanding Senior in CIS Award

Annual award to the outstanding senior majoring in CIS. 2010 Winner:
Taylor Callsen, Daniel Lacasse, and Tyler Martin
2009 Winner: Christine Smith
2008 Winner: Jonathan Meadows
2007 Winner: David Parker
2006 Winner: Kevin Sturm

JMU Technology Alumni Group (TAG) Scholarship

Established by JMU's Technology Alumni Group (TAG) to recognize leadership and academic performance in the CIS program.
2010 Winner: Jessica Chiu
2009 Winner:    Tyler Martin

2008 Winner:
Christine Smith
2007 Winner: Zach Henry