A-to-Z Index

JMU Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry Seminars

ARCHIVE | SPRING SYMPOSIUM | KEYNOTE SPEAKERS | SPEAKER INFORMATION

Spring 2013 - ARCHIVE

DATE SPEAKER
(Affiliation)
TITLE
(Click on Title for Abstract)
Fri., Jan. 11 Sarah Brearly
Academic & Career Advisor
Liaison to Science & Math
JMU Career and Academic Planning
Interviewing and Networking
Fri., Jan 18 Dr. Chris Berndsen
Dr. Daniel Havey
Dr. Brycelyn Boardman
Dr. Nathan Wright
JMU Chemistry & Biochemistry
ACS Student Affiliates Presents
JMU Faculty Research Opportunities
Part I
Fri., Jan 25
(ISAT 259)
Students, colleagues, friends and guests are invited to ISAT 259 at 3:35pm for an informal gathering in memory of Dr. Daniel Havey.  (Note: A memorial service is scheduled for Feb 22. See details below.) Today's previously scheduled seminar is canceled.
Fri., Feb 1 Dr. Louis J. De Felice
Dept. of Physiology & Biophysics
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine
Richmond, VA
A neuroscientist looks at how drugs work and why they are harmful
Mon., Feb 18 (Bioscience 1007 at 4:15pm) Dr. LuAnne McNulty
Department of Chemistry
Butler University
Indianapolis, IN
Synthesis and uses of cyclic alkenyl boronic half acids
Fri., Feb 22 No seminar today. JMU Chemistry and Biochemistry will be hosting a memorial service today for Dr. Daniel Havey at 4pm in the Montpelier room, on the second floor of the East Campus dining hall. Note: Dr. Richard Gandour's seminar (originally planned for Feb 22) has been rescheduled for Mar 15.
Mon., Feb 25 (Bioscience 1007 at 4:15pm) Dr. Theofanis Kitsopoulos
Department of Chemistry
University of Crete
Heraklion-Crete, Greece
Imaging applications in chemical dynamics
Wed., Feb 27 (Bioscience 1007 at 4:15pm) Dr. Linette Watkins
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Texas State University
San Marcos, TX
Enzymes in the environment: Studying specificity in soil bacteria
Fri., Mar 15 Dr. Richard Gandour
Department of Chemistry
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA
Seeking Optimal Antibacterial Products (SOAP or NO SOAP?)
Thu., Mar 21 - Fri., Mar 22 38th Annual Spring Symposium

(click image above for full schedule)

Thursday, March 21, 2013
Student Oral Session I
Student Poster Session

Friday, March 22, 2013
Student Oral Session II
Keynote Speaker
Keynote Presentation
Graphene: Perspectives on Moving a New Nanomaterial from Laboratory Curiosity to Commercial Products
Dr. Christy Vestal Martin
Vorbeck Mateirals
Jessup, MD
Fri., Apr 5 Dr. Isaiah Sumner
Dr. Kevin Caran
Dr. Yanjie Zhang
JMU Chemistry & Biochemistry
ACS Student Affiliates Presents
JMU Faculty Research Opportunities
Part II
Fri., Apr 12 no regular seminar today reserved for CHEM 482 presentations
Fri., Apr 19 no regular seminar today reserved for CHEM 482 presentations

 

Other JMU Science, Technology and Engineering Seminars