A-to-Z Index


JMU Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry Seminars

ARCHIVE | SPRING SYMPOSIUM | KEYNOTE SPEAKERS | SPEAKER INFORMATION

SPRING 2011
(Seminars are in ISAT 159 at 3:30pm unless otherwise noted.)

DATE SPEAKER
(Affiliation)
TITLE
(Click on Title for Abstract)
Fri., Jan. 14 Dr. Gary E. Douberly
Department of Chemistry
University of Georgia
Spectroscopy of Molecular Clusers in 0.4K Helium Nanodroplets
Sat. Jan. 22
3 pm Forbes Center for the Performing Arts
Dr. Francis S. Collins
Director of the National Institutes of Health
Art Imitates Life: The Dance of DNA, Decoding and Doctoring
Fri., Jan. 28 Michael Peretich (JMU '06)
Univ. Tennesee Knoxville
Targeted Synthesis, Characterization and Catalytic Activity of Nanostructured, Single-Site, Heterogeneous Catalysts Containing Isolated W(VI) or Zr(IV) Centers
Fri., Feb. 4 Dr. Gina MacDonald
Dr. Tom DeVore
Dr. Chrisi Hughey
Dr. Kevin Caran
ACS Student Affiliates Presents
JMU Faculty Research Opportunities, Part I
Fri., Feb. 11 Dr. Yanjie Zhang
Dr. Brian Augustine
Dr. Dan Havey
Dr. Barbara Reisner
ACS Student Affiliates Presents
JMU Faculty Research Opportunities, Part II
Thu. Mar. 24 -
Fri. Mar. 25

36th Annual Spring Undergraduate Research Symposium

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Morgan Sibbald (JMU '92),
Sherwin-Williams Company
Cleveland, OH

"Not Just a Pretty Face: Technology Innovations in the Paints and Coatings Industry"

Fri., Apr. 1 Laura M. Haas
Academic & Career Planning
James Madison University
Career and Academic Planning: How Can it Help Me?
Fri., Apr. 8 Dr. Vincent J. LiCata
Department of Biological Sciences
Louisiana State University
Why is Taq DNA Polymerase so Stable?
Fri., Apr. 15 Dr. M. Samy El- Shall
Department of Chemistry
Virginia Commonwealth University
Graphene for Efficient Photothermal Energy Conversion and Novel Catalysis

Other JMU Science, Technology and Engineering Seminars