Skip to Main Content

Information and Services

Catalog Banner 2016-17
You are in the main content


University Calendar

Fall Semester

Fall Semester 2016

August 23-24, Tuesday-Wednesday

Residence halls open for freshmen on assigned days.

Dining Services open on Tuesday, August 23th and fall meal plans begin at 5 p.m. for freshmen.

August 26, Friday

Opening Faculty Meeting

Freshman Assessment Day

Residence halls open for transfer and international students.

August 27, Saturday

Residence halls open for returning students.

August 29, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

September 16, Friday

Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

September 30-October 2, Friday-Sunday

Family Weekend

October 14, Friday

Last day to submit an application for a baccalaureate degree if graduation requirements are to be met in May or August 2017.

October 14, Friday

First Block courses end.

October 17, Monday

Second Block courses begin.

October 20, Thursday

Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 25, Tuesday

First Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 28-30, Friday-Sunday

Homecoming

November 7, Monday

Registration begins for 2017 spring semester.

November 18, Friday

Dining Services closes at 7:30 p.m.

November 19, Saturday

Thanksgiving holiday begins and residence halls close.

November 26, Saturday

Residence halls open. Dining Services open at 4:30 p.m.

November 28, Monday

Classes resume.

November 28, Monday

Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2016 spring semester and 2016 summer session for removal of “incomplete” grades.

December 9, Friday

Last day of classes.

Last day for faculty to turn in removal of “incomplete” grades for 2016 spring semester and

2016 summer session to the Office of the Registrar.

December 10-16, Saturday-Friday

Final Examinations.

December 16, Friday

Residence halls close. Dining Services close and fall meal plans end at 2 p.m.

Deadline for completion of course work for December graduates.

December 17, Saturday

Commencement begins at 10 a.m.in the Convocation Center.

Residence halls close for graduating seniors.

December 19, Monday

Regular semester and Second Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar by 3 p.m.

Spring Semester

Spring Semester 2017

January 8, Sunday

Residence halls open.

Spring meal plans begin and Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

January 9, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

January 16, Monday

Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday. Classes do not meet.

January 27, Friday

Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

February 7, Tuesday

Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (No classes. 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.)

Evening classes (those beginning 4 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.

February 28, Tuesday

Third Block courses end.

March 3, Friday

Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

Dining Services close at 2 p.m. Residence halls close.

March 6-10, Monday-Friday

Spring Break. Classes do not meet.

March 12, Sunday

Residence halls open. Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

March 13, Monday

Classes resume.

Fourth Block courses begin.

March 14, Tuesday

Third Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

March 17, Friday

James Madison Day

March 20, Monday

Advance registration for 2017 summer session begins.

April 3, Monday

Registration begins for 2017 fall semester.

April 13, Thursday

Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2016 fall semester for removal of “incomplete” grades.

April 14, Friday

Last day to submit a graduation application if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2017.

April 27, Thursday

Last day of classes.

Last day for faculty to turn in removal of “incomplete” grades for 2016 fall semester to the

Office of the Registrar.

April 28 - May 4, Friday-Thursday

Final Examinations. University housing checkout process.

May 4, Thursday

Residence halls close for undergraduate students.

Spring meal plans end and Dining Services close at 7 p.m.

Deadline for completion of course work for May graduates.

May 4-6 Thursday-Saturday

Commencement Ceremonies.

May 9, Tuesday

Regular Semester and Fourth Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar by 3 p.m.

Summer Sessions

Summer 2017 Sessions (Undergraduate)

Ten-Week Term

May 15, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled

May 29, Monday

No classes. Holiday - Memorial Day

July 4, Tuesday

No classes. Holiday - Fourth of July

July 21, Friday

Final Examinations.

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates

Eight-Week Term

May 15, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled

May 29, Monday

No classes. Holiday - Memorial Day

July 4, Tuesday

No classes. Holiday - Fourth of July

July 7, Friday

Final Examinations.

July 21, Friday

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates

Six-Week Term

June 12, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled

July 4, Tuesday

No classes. Holiday - Fourth of July

July 21, Friday

Final Examinations.

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates

1st Four-Week Term

May 15, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled

May 29, Monday

No classes. Holiday - Memorial Day

June 9, Friday

Final Examinations.

July 21, Friday

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates

2nd Four-Week Term

June 12, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled

July 4, Tuesday

No classes. Holiday - Fourth of July

July 7, Friday

Final Examinations.

July 21, Friday

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates

Tentative Semesters

Tentative Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 Semesters

August 22-23, Tuesday-Wednesday

Residence halls open for freshmen on assigned days.

Dining Services open on Tuesday, August 25th and fall meal plans begin at 5 p.m. for freshmen.

August 25, Friday

Residence Halls open for transfer and international students.

August 26, Saturday

Residence halls open for returning students.

Fall meal plans begin at 10 a.m. for transfer and returning students.

August 28, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

December 15, Friday

Fall semester ends.

December 16, Saturday

Commencement

January 8, Monday

Spring semester begins.

March 5-9, Monday – Friday

Spring Break

May 3, Thursday

Spring semester ends.

May 3-5, Thursday-Saturday

Commencement Ceremonies

Tentative Summer 2018 Semester

May 14, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

August 3, Friday

Last day of classes.

Calendar PDF