Skip to Main Content

Information and Services

Catalog Banner 2014-2015
You are in the main content


University Calendar 

Fall Semester 2014

August 19-20, Tuesday-Wednesday

Residence halls open for freshmen on assigned days.

Dining Services open on Tuesday, August 19th and fall meal plans begin at 5 p.m. for freshmen.

August 22, Friday

Opening Faculty Meeting.

Freshman Assessment Day.

Residence halls open for transfer and international students.

August 23, Saturday

Residence halls open for returning students.

August 25, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

September 12, Friday

Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

October 10-12, Friday-Sunday

Family Weekend.

October 10, Friday

First Block courses end.

October 13, Monday

Second Block courses begin.

October 15, Wednesday

Last day to submit an application for a baccalaureate degree if graduation requirements are to be met in May 2015.

October 16, Thursday

Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 21, Tuesday

First Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 27, Monday

Registration begins for 2015 spring semester.

October 31- November 1, Friday-Saturday

Homecoming.

November 17, Monday

Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2014 spring semester and 2014 summer session for removal of “incomplete” grades.

November 21, Friday

Dining Services closes at 7:30 p.m.

November 22, Saturday

Thanksgiving holiday begins and residence halls close.

November 29, Saturday

Residence halls open. Dining Services open at 4:30 p.m.

December 1, Monday

Classes resume.

December 5, Friday

Last day of classes.

Last day for faculty to turn in removal of incomplete grades for 2014 spring semester and 2014 summer session to the Office of the Registrar.

December 8 -12, Monday-Friday

Final examinations.

December 12, Friday

Residence halls close. Dining Services close and fall meal plans end at 2 p.m.

Deadline for completion of course work for December graduates.

December 13, Saturday

Commencement begins at 10 a.m. in the Convocation Center.

Residence halls close for graduating seniors.

December 15, Monday

Regular semester and Second Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar by 3 p.m.

Spring Semester 2015

January 11, Sunday

Residence halls open.

Spring meal plans begin and Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

January 12, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

January 19, Monday

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. Classes do not meet.

January 30, Friday

Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

February 10, Tuesday

Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (no classes 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.)

Evening classes (those beginning 4 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.

February 13, Friday

Last day to submit an application for a baccalaureate degree if graduation requirements are to be met by the end of 2015 summer session.

March 3, Tuesday

Third Block courses end.

March 6, Friday

Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

Dining Services close at 2 p.m. Residence halls close.

March 9-13, Monday-Friday

Spring Break. Classes do not meet.

March 15, Sunday

Residence halls open. Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

March 16, Monday

Classes resume. Second Block courses begin.

March 17, Tuesday

Third Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

March 20, Friday

James Madison Day.

March 23, Monday

Registration for 2015 summer session begins.

April 6, Monday

Registration begins for 2015 fall semester.

April 15, Wednesday

Last day to submit a graduation application if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2015.

April 17, Friday

Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2014 fall semester for removal of incomplete grades.

April 30, Thursday

Last day of classes.

Last day for faculty to turn in removal of incomplete grades for 2014 fall semester to the Office of the Registrar.

May 1-7, Friday-Thursday

Final examinations. University housing checkout process.

May 7, Thursday

Residence halls close for undergraduate students.

Spring meal plans end and Dining Services close at 7 p.m.

Deadline for completion of course work for May graduates.

Graduate Commencement Ceremony at 7 p.m.

May 8, Friday

Main Commencement Ceremony at 3 p.m.

College of Business Commencement Ceremony at 7 p.m.

May 9, Saturday

College of Arts and Letters Commencement Ceremony at 9 a.m.

College of Education Commencement Ceremony at 9 a.m.

College of Health and Behavioral Studies Commencement Ceremony at 9 a.m. 

College of Integrated Science and Engineering at 9 a.m.

College of Science and Mathematics Commencement Ceremony at 9 a.m.

College of Visual and Performing Arts Commencement Ceremony at 9 a.m. 

Residence halls close for graduating seniors.

May 12, Tuesday

Regular Semester and Fourth Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar by 3 p.m.

Undergraduate 2015 Summer Sessions

Ten-Week Term

May 18, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled.

May 25, Monday

Holiday – Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

July 3, Friday

Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 24, Friday

Final examinations.

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

Eight-Week Term

May 18, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled.

May 25, Monday

Holiday – Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

July 3, Friday

Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 10, Friday

Final examinations.

July 24, Friday

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

Six-Week Term

June 15, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled.

July 3, Friday

Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 24, Friday

Final examinations.

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

First Four-Week Term

May 18, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled.

May 25, Monday

Holiday – Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

June 12, Friday

Final examinations.

July 24, Friday

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

Second Four-Week Term

June 15, Monday

Registration and fee payment.

Classes meet as scheduled.

July 3, Friday

Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 10, Friday

Final examinations.

July 24, Friday

Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

Tentative 2015 Fall and 2016 Spring Semesters

August 25-26, Tuesday-Wednesday

Residence halls open for freshmen on assigned days.

Dining Services open on Tuesday, August 25, and fall meal plans begin at 5 p.m. for first year students.

August 28, Friday

Residence Halls open for transfer and international students.

August 29, Saturday

Residence halls open for returning students.

Fall meal plans begin at 10 a.m. for transfer and returning students.

August 31, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

December 18, Friday

Fall semester ends.

December 19, Saturday

Commencement.

January 11, Monday

Spring semester begins.

March 7-11, Monday – Friday

Spring Break.

May 5, Thursday

Spring semester ends.

May 6, Friday

Main Commencement Ceremony at 3 p.m.

May 7, Saturday

Undergraduate College Ceremony at 9 a.m.

Tentative 2016 Summer Semester

May 16, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.