University Calendar for 2012-2013
For detailed dates and times regarding payment and adjustment of tuition and fees, registration for courses, and making course adjustments, refer to MyMadison. The academic calendar is also available online at Registrar's website.

Fall Semester 2012

August 21, Tuesday and August 22, Wednesday
Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for first year students on assigned days.
Dining Services open on Tuesday, August 21 and fall meal plans begin at 5 p.m. for first year students.

August 24, Friday
Opening Faculty Meeting.
First Year Student Assessment Day.
Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for transfer and international students.

August 25, Saturday
Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for returning students.

August 27, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

September 14, Friday
Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges
and refund.

October 5-7, Friday-Sunday
Family Weekend.

October 12, Friday
First Block courses end.

October 15, Monday
Last day to submit an application for a baccalaureate degree if graduation requirements are to be met in May 2013.
Second Block courses begin.

October 18, Thursday
Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 23, Tuesday
First Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 26-28, Friday-Sunday
Homecoming.

October 29, Monday
Registration begins for 2013 spring semester.

November 16, Friday
Dining Services closes at 7:30 p.m.

November 18, Sunday – Date and time updated as of 11/9/2012
Thanksgiving vacation begins and residence halls close at noon.

November 24, Saturday
Residence halls open. Dining Services opens at 4:30 p.m.

November 26, Monday
Classes resume.
Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2012 spring semester and 2012 summer session for removal of "incomplete"; grades.

December 7, Friday
Last day of classes.
Last day for faculty to turn in removal of "incomplete"; grades for 2012 spring semester and 2012 summer session to the Office of the Registrar.

December 10-14, Monday-Friday
Final examinations.

December 14, Friday
Dining Services close and fall meal plans end at 2 p.m.
Residence halls close.
Deadline for completion of course work for December graduates.

December 15, Saturday
Commencement at 10 a.m. in the Convocation Center.
Residence halls close for graduating seniors.

December 17, Monday
Regular semester and Second Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

Spring Semester 2013

January 6, Sunday
Residence halls open at 9 a.m.
Spring meal plans begin and Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

January 7, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

January 21, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. Classes do not meet.

January 25, Friday
Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

February 12, Tuesday
Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (no classes 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.).
Evening classes (those beginning 4 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.

February 13, Wednesday
Last day to submit an application for a baccalaureate degree if graduation requirements are to be met by the end of 2013 summer session.

February 26, Tuesday
Third Block courses end.

March 1, Friday
Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.
Dining Services closes at 2 p.m. and residence halls close at 5 p.m.

March 4-8, Monday-Friday
Spring Break. Classes do not meet.

March 10, Sunday
Residence halls open at noon and Dining Services open at 5 p.m.

March 11, Monday
Classes resume. Fourth Block courses begin.

March 12, Tuesday
Third Block courses due in the Office of the Registrar.

March 15, Friday
James Madison Day.

March 18, Monday
Advanced registration for 2013 summer session begins.

April 2, Tuesday
Registration begins for 2013 fall semester.

April 12, Friday
Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2012 fall semester for removal of "incomplete" grades.

April 26, Friday
Last day of classes.
Last day for faculty to turn in removal of "incomplete"; grades for 2012 fall semester to the Office of the Registrar.

April 29-May 3, Monday-Friday
Final examinations.
University housing checkout process.

May 3, Friday
Residence halls close at 5 p.m. for undergraduate students.
Dining Services close at 7 p.m. and spring meal plans end.
Deadline for completion of course work for May graduates.

May 4, Saturday
Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony.
Residence halls close at 3 p.m. for graduating seniors.

May 7, Tuesday
Regular Semester and Fourth Block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

RETURN TO TOP

Undergraduate 2013 Summer Sessions

Ten-Week Term

May 13, Monday
Registration and fee payment.
Classes meet as scheduled.

May 27, Monday
Holiday – Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

June 1, Saturday
Last day to submit a graduation application if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2013.

July 4, Thursday
Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 19, Friday
Final examinations. Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

RETURN TO TOP

Eight-Week Term

May 13, Monday
Registration and fee payment.
Classes meet as scheduled.

May 27, Monday
Holiday – Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

June 1, Saturday
Last day to submit a graduation application if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2013.

July 4, Thursday
Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 5, Friday
Final examinations.

July 19, Friday
Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

RETURN TO TOP

Six-Week Term

June 1, Saturday
Last day to submit a graduation application if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2013.

June 10, Monday
Registration and fee payment.
Classes meet as scheduled.

July 4, Thursday
Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 19, Friday
Final examinations.
Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

RETURN TO TOP

First Four-Week Term

May 13, Monday
Registration and fee payment.
Classes meet as scheduled.

May 27, Monday
Holiday – Memorial Day. Classes do not meet.

June 1, Saturday
Last day to submit a graduation application if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2013.

June 7, Friday
Final examinations.

July 19, Friday
Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

RETURN TO TOP

Second Four-Week Term

June 1, Saturday
Last day to submit a graduation application if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2013.

June 10, Monday
Registration and fee payment.
Classes meet as scheduled.

July 4, Thursday
Holiday – Fourth of July. Classes do not meet.

July 5, Friday
Final examinations.

July 19, Friday
Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.

RETURN TO TOP

Tentative 2013 Fall and 2014 Spring Semesters

August 20, Tuesday and August 21, Wednesday
Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for first year students on assigned days.
Dining Services open on Tuesday, August 20 and fall meal plans begin at 5 p.m. for first year students.

August 23, Friday
Residence Halls open at 9 a.m. for transfer and international students.

August 24, Saturday
Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for returning students.
Fall meal plans begin at 10 a.m. for transfer and returning students.

August 26, Monday
Classes meet as scheduled.

December 13, Friday
Fall semester ends.

December 14, Saturday
Commencement.

January 6, Monday
Spring semester begins.

March 3-7, Monday-Friday
Spring Break.

May 2, Friday
Spring semester ends.

May 3, Saturday
Commencement.

RETURN TO TOP

 

 

 

Horizontal Rule