302 Warren Hall
Tuition and fee charges for the 2005-2006 sessions are available on
the University Business Office Web site. The tuition and fees listed
contribute to general maintenance and operation costs, instruction costs
and other university service costs including recreational and health-service
facility costs. The fees also support student activities such as the
Student Government Association, University Program Board and student
Billing and Registration
Registration for the fall semester is conducted in April for returning
students and in November for the spring semester. Students who register
during the aforementioned times will be notified of the amounts due
through the mail in early August for the fall semester and early December
for the spring semester. Thereafter, monthly statements will be mailed
for any new charges or unpaid account balances.
Payment may be made by the following means
Students may pay by a combination of personal check, cash, money order, cashiers check and credit cards. Payments drawn on foreign banks must be converted to U.S. dollars prior to transmittal to the university. The studentís account number (social security or campus ID number) should be included on all payments to ensure its application to the proper account.
A student registering to audit a course will pay the same tuition and fees as one who registers for credit.
Specialized Class Fees
Certain courses which use off-campus facilities (e.g., bowling, skiing) have additional charges which will be determined at the time the course is offered.
Examination for Credit Fee
Arrangements for attempting credit by departmental examination may be made by paying a nonrefundable $25 fee to the University Business Office and presenting the receipt to the Office of the Registrar.
Returned Check Fee
A $25 per check fee is assessed for checks returned unpaid to the university. If a check is returned, the director of the University Business Office will notify the student by e-mail. If the student does not make appropriate alternative payment as specified, the studentís class registration will be canceled and the student may be withdrawn from the university. The university will also hold the studentís records, future registration, transcripts, teaching license and diploma until the check is redeemed.
Electronic Student Account payments made by credit card and through e-campus will be assessed a convenience fee. The convenience fee is based on the total charges paid. The calculated amount is displayed separately and assessed at the time payment is made.
Eligibility for in-state tuition charges is based on the provisions of Section 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia in effect on the first day of classes for each term. A link to the Code of Virginia guidelines can be found on the Web site of the assistant vice president for finance and University Business Office. This statute limits in-state tuition to those with Virginia domiciliary status. Domicile is defined as the “present, fixed home to which you return following temporary absences and at which you intend to stay indefinitely.” If there is any question of the right to classification as a domicile of Virginia, it is the student’s obligation, prior to the first day of classes for the semester, to raise the question with JMU administrative officials.
To qualify for in-state tuition, a dependent student or an unemancipated minor shall establish by clear and convincing evidence that, for a period of at least one year prior to the date of the alleged entitlement, the person through whom he or she claims eligibility was domiciled in Virginia and had abandoned any previous domicile, if such existed.
The statute defines an independent student as one whose parents have
surrendered the right to his or her care, custody and earnings; have
ceased to support him or her and have not claimed him or her as a dependent
on federal and state income tax returns for at least 12 months prior
to the alleged eligibility.
Part-time students cannot purchase a housing contract without prior approval of the Office of Residence Life. Students residing in university housing, except university-sponsored apartments, automatically have a comprehensive 14-Plus Meal Plan included with their housing contract. Other resident meal plans are described in JMUís Student Handbook. Residents of university-sponsored apartments are only charged for the room portion of their housing contract. These students and commuter students may purchase one of several meal plans through Card Services, Warren Hall, Room 302.
Any overpayment of a student account can be either refunded or posted to a future semester as a payment. All overpayments are refunded to the student except for parent PLUS loans, which are refunded to the parent. Direct deposit to the studentís or parentís bank account is strongly encouraged. Direct deposit forms can be acquired at the University Business Office at Warren Hall, Room 302, through the University Business Office Web site at http://www.jmu.edu/ubo, or the Office of Financial Aid Web site at http://www.jmu.edu/finaid. If no direct deposit form is on record, then a check will be processed within 10 banking days and mailed to the studentís/parentís home address of record. Students who officially withdraw from the university by September 7 for fall semester and January 25 for spring semester will be refunded all tuition and fees except the tuition and room deposit. Withdrawing after the end of this period will not reduce tuition charges. Room and board fees will be prorated from the dining hall opening date. After September 7 and January 25 refunds will be for only a pro rata share of the board fee. Students who withdraw from the university due to illness certified by a physician or for unavoidable emergency or extenuating circumstances approved by the JMU Ombudsman will be refunded a pro rata share of all fees. Refunds for withdrawal from the university are calculated from last date of attendance, as approved by the JMU Ombudsman. For further information on withdrawal from the university, see Page 30. Students whose connection with the university terminates because of disciplinary action or enforced withdrawal will receive a pro rata refund of all fees except for the room.
Room and Tuition Deposits
For new students, a deposit of $250 is required to confirm their acceptance of the offer of admission. When a student pays the deposit, the money is applied to the studentís account. The deadline for this deposit is May 1. Refunds after the stated deadlines will be made only for personal illness certified by a physician or other extenuating circumstances approved by the assistant vice president for finance.
For returning students who want to live in university residential facilities, a signed room and board contract must be submitted to the Office of Residence Life, Huffman Hall, Room A101. A contract fee will be billed through the studentís financial account.