General Information


For detailed dates and times regarding payment and adjustment of tuition and fees, registration for courses and making course adjustments, refer to http://ecampus.jmu.edu.

Fall Semester 2005

August 24, Wednesday

Residence halls open 9 a.m. for freshmen.

Dining Services opens and fall meal plans begin at 5 p.m. for freshmen.

August 26, Friday

Opening Faculty Meeting

August 27, Saturday

Freshmen Assessment Day

August 27, Saturday

Residence halls open 9 a.m. for transfer and returning students.

Fall meal plans begin at 10 a.m. for transfer and returning students.

August 29, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

September 16, Friday

Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

October 7-9, Friday-Sunday

Family Weekend

October 14, Friday

First block courses end.

October 17, Monday

Second block courses begin.

October 20, Thursday

Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

October 21, Friday

Last day to submit an application for a degree if graduation requirements are to be met in May 2006.

October 21, Friday

First semester holiday. Classes do not meet.

October 28-29, Friday-Saturday

Homecoming

October 31, Monday

Registration begins for 2006 spring semester.

November 1, Tuesday

First block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

November 22, Tuesday

Dining Services closes 6:30 p.m.

November 23, Wednesday

Thanksgiving vacation begins and residence halls close 8 a.m.

November 27, Sunday

Residence halls open noon. Dining Services opens at 5 p.m.

November 28, Monday

Classes resume.

Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2005 spring semester and 2005 summer session “incomplete” grades.

December 9, Friday

Last day of classes.

Last day for faculty to turn in removal of “incomplete” grades for 2005 spring semester and 2005 summer session to the Office of the Registrar.

December 12-16, Monday-Friday

Final examinations

December 16, Friday

Residence halls close 5 p.m. Dining Services closes and fall meal plans end 2 p.m.

Deadline for completion of course work for December graduates.

December 17, Saturday

Graduation. Commencement exercises 10 a.m., Convocation Center.

Residence halls close 3 p.m. for graduating seniors.

Dining Services closes and fall meal plans end 10 a.m. for graduating seniors.

Spring Semester 2006

January 8, Sunday

Residence halls open 9 a.m.

Spring meal plans begin and Dining Services opens at 5 p.m.

January 9, Monday

Classes meet as scheduled.

January 16, Monday

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Classes do not meet.

January 27, Friday

Last day to withdraw from the university with cancellation of tuition charges and refund.

         

February 14, Tuesday

Last day to submit an application for a degree if graduation requirements are to be met by the end of 2006 summer session.

Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (no classes 8 a.m.-4 p.m.)

Evening classes (those beginning 4 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.

February 28, Tuesday

Third block courses end.

March 3, Friday

Mid-semester grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

Dining Services closes 2 p.m. Residence halls close at 5 p.m.

March 6-10, Monday-Friday

Spring Break. Classes do not meet.

March 12, Sunday

Residence halls open noon. Dining Services opens at 5 p.m.

March 13, Monday

Classes resume. Fourth block courses begin.

March 15, Wednesday

Third block course grades due in the Office of the Registrar.

March 15, Wednesday

James Madison Day

March 20, Monday

Advance registration for 2006 summer session begins.

April 4, Tuesday

Registration begins for 2006 fall semester.

April 14, Friday

Last day for students to submit work to faculty for 2005 fall semester “incomplete” grades.

April 28, Friday

Last day of classes.

Last day for faculty to turn in removal of “incomplete” grades for 2005 fall semester to the Office of the Registrar.

May 1-5, Monday-Friday

Final examinations

University housing checkout process.

May 5, Friday

Residence halls close 5 p.m. for undergraduate students.

Dining Services closes 7 p.m. and Spring meal plans end.

Deadline for completion of course work for May graduates.

May 6, Saturday

Graduation. Commencement exercises.

Residence halls close 3 p.m. for graduating seniors.

 

Back to top

 

Back to top

 
Apply now!
Read JMU course descriptions
JMU Home

Publisher:
JMU Academic Affairs
MSC 8002, Harrisonburg, VA 22807

For more information contact:
JMU Catalog Office at
ug-catalog@jmu.edu

Copyright © 2004 James Madison University. All rights reserved.
Privacy Statement